How to be a stay-at-home single mom.

Yeah. I googled that sentence about 200 times when I was pregnant. I couldn’t find any evidence of it actually ever happening in the history of the world. But a person can dream right? I thought if I could be at home with the baby for at least a few months I would be happy. And I would be equally happy to return to work at the office. Not so, as I have written about before. Baby is nearly 5 months old now and I could not be less ready to work from the office. Luckily I have been able to work from home – and should be able to keep doing so for at least a few months.

If you are in the same boat, here are some ideas I came up with in my 9 months of brainstorming:

  • rent out part of your home/space on Airbnb.com
  • sell your breastmilk for a baby in need (better to just donate in but just an idea!)
  • get a roommate
  • find odd jobs on Craigslist doing things like writing thank you notes for brides/nonprofits etc, editing, cleaning and organizing homes/garages…
  • become a life/career coach
  • take out a loan or borrow from your credit card
  • buy stuff wholesale/gently used/vintage and mark it up and sell it on Amazon/Ebay/Craigslist/Etsy
  • start an in-home day care
  • work at someone else’s in-home day care
  • be a nanny for one child (or more)
  • start a meet-up group for moms and charge a membership fee
  • do tasks on TaskRabbit or Fiverr, etc
  • take surveys online surveys
  • Win poetry or comedy slam prizes with your witty material

I’m not sure how I will feel once I start getting pulled into the office more. Might be taking another look at this list very soon.

Leave a Reply

