A real mother…

It is curious that physical courage should be so common in the world and moral courage so rare. – Mark Twain, author and humorist (1835-1910)

I guess I’m a real mother now if I’m posting quotes! I can’t help it. I like them. But let’s be honest: the real mother of them all is moral courage. The real mother is being able to be truthful every step of the way. I see a lot of neutrality around me. I see a lot of being careful. Politically correct. I don’t think that’s any way to live and it’s really a disservice for everyone. For the history of the world. Life is too damn short to be that kind of careful. Why then do I find myself doing it everyday? I feel like I have to be so careful or I will lose my job… Or a friend… Or the real slap of losing a babysitter. (Oh the horror! Seriously). I miss my old life of radical honesty and I’m really struggling with what to model for my child.

Among many things it is scary be honest about – how hard it is to be a mother is way up there. There are so many hard things about it, but being honest about those things seems to mean: raised eyebrows, scaring people away or losing their respect. I think it’s time to be honest about how hard it it. Even though as I say that I hope others will break the ice. Here is a start.

Image

Leave a Reply

