Bill of Rights for People of Mixed Heritage, by: Maria P. P. Root

I found this Bill of Rights when I was pregnant and researching how to be the best mother to a biracial child. I definitely didn’t find all the answers, but this was a good start…

I have the right…Not to justify my existence in this world.Not to keep the races separate within me.Not to justify my ethnic legitimacy.Not to be responsible for people’s discomfort with my physical or ethnic ambiguity.I have the right…To identify myself differently than strangers expect me to identify.To identify myself differently than how my parents identify me.To identify myself differently than my brothers and sisters.To identify myself differently in different situations.I have the right…To create a vocabulary to communicate about being multiracial or multiethnic.To change my identity over my lifetime — and more than once. To have loyalties and identification with more than one group of people.To freely choose whom I befriend and love.ImageAnything you would to add to this list?

One thought on “Bill of Rights for People of Mixed Heritage, by: Maria P. P. Root

  1. Pingback: Independent Film Spotlight: Look At Me, Damn It! | The Dangerous Lee News & Entertainment Network

Leave a Reply

