31 single parent tips in 31 days. #19: Read together

#19: Read together

There are so many benefits of reading together. Here is an inspiring list. For my family, I’ve found that reading together gets me and my toddler talking, gives us extra time to be close and cuddled and just in general adds a layer of vibrancy, warmth and harmony to our lives. I get a little obsessed about great children’s books and I will put a long list of them online at the local library before deciding to purchase them (used on Amazon). Here are a few of our current favorites to read together:

Anno’s Counting Book

The Goodnight Train

I Know A Lot

The Day the Crayons Quit

Olivia and the Fairy Princesses

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

I’m seriously looking forward to reading him this book in the near future (bonus: it features an awesome single parent!) Hopefully just in time for the release of Lee’s looooong awaited and soon to be published novel (which I am like #783 on the waiting list for a library copy of). And don’t get me started on long road-trips and audio books! There is so much fun in our future my wee one!

2 thoughts on “31 single parent tips in 31 days. #19: Read together

  1. Reading to my daughter is one of my VERY favorite ways to spend time with her. She absolutely loves books – “reading” to herself and me reading to her, too. I look forward to some day reading chapter books to/with her.

    Like

    • I can’t wait either! When he has smaller – up until about the time he learned to walk – he would be playing and exploring and I would read to him from whatever I happened to be reading. Who’s Afraid of Post-Blackness, Buddhism for Mothers, Animal Vegetable Mineral, etc. But since he started walking he has much less patience for that. I never wanted to read the Harry Potter series before – but now I’m so looking forward to it. Plus it was written by a single parent!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

