31 single parent tips in 31 days. #25: Say no

#25: Say no

As a single parent (or any parent) you learn pretty quickly you don’t have time to say yes to everything anymore. At first it feels like you are missing out on so many fun opportunities but it really comes to feel good to protect your time and try to keep things simple. This also means saying no to your child sometimes. I think that is a good things. I’ve met so many boundary-less adults in my life and I hope I’m raising my child to respect himself and value his own time. He may not see it that way at this point though! We also talk about how “no means no.” A very valuable lesson. The bottom line is that I just can’t do it all anymore – and I’ve come to realize I don’t actually want to either. I’m much clearer now on what is worth my time and it feels really good to stick to that.

Leave a Reply

