31 single parent tips in 31 days. #28: Automate

single mom tips

#28: Automate

This is something I learned partly from being a single parent and partly from living without a car. I automate delivery of anything I can. I do this using Amazon Prime delivery and I subscribe to items like diapers (bonus: get 20% off all diapers when you sign up for Amazon “Mom”) wipes, laundry detergent, dish soap, shampoo, handsoap, and even toilet paper. I know how often I need these things and I set my account to have them delivered on schedule. Not only do I not need to haul anything home in the stroller – but I don’t need to keep mental tabs on what we need because I know it is on it’s way at the right time. Other things you can automate to make your life easier (and then spend all that extra time you saved at the beach!):

Bill paying

Meal planning/delivery

Your thermostat

Your coffeemaker

Housecleaning service

Have any other ideas you swear by?

3 thoughts on “31 single parent tips in 31 days. #28: Automate

  1. I do the same thing! it makes life SO much easier. I also always just get my groceries delivered via Grocery Gateway. Takes a huge load off my shoulders.

    I also swear by outsourcing as much as you can & your finances allow. I’ve recently hired a bi-weekly housekeeper. It’s been A-MAZING having that off my shoulders!

    Like

    • Awesome! I was using grocery delivery for a while too. It was like getting these little moments of having a partner/co-parent! Loved it.

      A single mom friend who has a child about a year older than mine told me that some of the best advice she got was to spend her money in the first year – if she had any to spend on any kind of help (postpartum doulas, housekeepers, etc) she should use it liberally in at least the first year. I kind of have to agree with that advice!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Hibernation mode. | becklist

Leave a Reply

