Book Review: Who’s Afraid of Post-Blackness?

single mom book

When I was pregnant a friend told me, that as a white woman expecting a biracial Black child, I needed to read Who’s Afraid of Post-Blackness. He said I needed to read it as much as I needed to read any book about preparing for childbirth or any other part of parenting. Maybe more. He said it was going to blow both my mind and my maternity acid-wash jeans right off of me. Unfortunately I never did have a pair of maternity acid-wash jeans, but I did have this book blow my mind. I almost finished it before I gave birth – so I finished it up in my child’s first few days. It was the first book I ever read aloud to him. I would share a favorite passage or two – but it’s such an awesome book it is almost always lent out to someone.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants to begin to understand Black identities and experiences. I would recommend this book to anyone of any skin color – especially those living in the U.S. now. I highly recommend it to any white parent who is part of a multiracial family.

Check it out at your local library or here.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Who’s Afraid of Post-Blackness?

  1. This sounds like a book I should read. My son doesn’t have any contact with his father who is the one who brought the lovely melanin to his skin. Thanks for writing about it!

    Like

    • I’ve been told by friends with multiracial families that they can see the racial identities forming very early – like 3 or 4 years old. But those are families where both parents are a daily presence so I do ponder about what it must be like for my multiracial child who has only one parent involved at this point.

      Have you seen the Bill of Rights for People of Mixed Heritage?

      There are many other helpful books out there. Just to name a few:
      I’m Chocolate, You’re Vanilla
      The Color of Water
      Part Asian, 100% Hapa
      Understanding White Privilege
      Whistling Vivaldi
      White Like Me
      Fire In the Heart
      Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?
      Uprooting Racism
      Multiplication is for White People
      Sister Citizen
      Black White Other
      Clearly Invisible

      Like

Leave a Reply

