Book Review: Buddha’s Brain

books for single moms

This book crossed my path a few times before I picked it up myself. It reenforced a lot of habits that I already have (who doesn’t need a little reinforcement, right?!) And it also had TONS of new ideas that have been hugely helpful in my second year of parenting. Here are a few ideas from the book that have helped me.

1. Use routine events as your temple bells. For me it’s red lights. The perfect time to stop those racing thoughts and just appreciate…pretty much everything.

2. Have faith in justice – that others will pay their own price someday. You don’t have to be the justice system. Phew! What a relief!

3. A quote from Longfellow: “If we could read the secret history of our enemies, we should find in each person’s life sorrow and suffering enough to disarm any hostility.” This has been a really helpful thought for me for dealing with passive aggressive people especially.

4. Calm your nerves by taking a same length exhale and inhale. Imagine you are breathing through the area around your heart. Call to mind a pleasant emotion: gratitude, kindness, love, a happy time, being with your child, etc.

This short list can’t do the book justice though. I’d highly recommend checking out Buddha’s Brain if you are feeling stuck in your thoughts and need a fresh perspective.

Leave a Reply

