Single mom wins race.

single mom runs for life

Ok, I’m doing it. I’m a few weeks in so I know this is real and I can go public with it. I’m feeling really good about my progress already. I’m doing a couch to 5k. That’s right folks. Only the most interesting updates all the time ever here on this blog. If you aren’t already bored you may read on.

I’ve only run one race in my life – a marathon. Someone egged me on to do it and then someone else told me no way could I do it. So, that sealed the deal. I was doing it. And I did it! I trained for four months and having never run before in my life (I was the kid always sitting down and picking the grass in P.E. class) I was able to run the first 20 miles then run/walk the rest. I did it and then medal in hand I swore I would never run again…until now.

I guess I thought I would be one of those moms who went back to her pre-pregnancy jeans about a month after the baby was born. It’s two and a half years later and I still can’t quiiiiiite button those. I would also have thought that pushing around three to four dozen lbs of kid + stroller + so much stuff would get me into shape. I mean, I live in a hilly neighborhood right? So I thought I’d give running a try again.

My goal is to run a 5k without stopping and in less than 30 minutes. My couch to 5k method is to set a timer for 30 minutes and to walk and run – slowly increasing the amount of time spent running. So far I can go 2 miles in that 30 minutes. So, I’m close. Right? Right.

Anyone else up to the same kind of shenanigans?

4 thoughts on “Single mom wins race.

  1. I don’t think I realized you are Torontonian! Or did I, and I just forgot?

    You can totally do this! And you’ll rock it. I did the couch 2 5k thing a few years ago and found it very helpful. Then I ran a 10k and didn’t die! I did, however, get home and take a 4-hour nap afterwards. lol

    Like

  2. Pingback: Single mom on the run. | becklist

Leave a Reply

