Big books little books.

I’ve shared abut many of my favorite books on the blog recently. I thought it would be fun to do a recurring “book report” of sorts to share and record what we are enjoying now. I’m hoping to keep this going every week if I can. Here goes!

single parent books

Oh dang. Go Set a Watchman was good. It has gotten a lot of mixed reviews and I know some people have qualms about whether or not Harper Lee truly wanted it published. I completely enjoyed and was challenged by it and I’m glad it was published. If you are a fan of To Kill a Mockingbird you will not be disappointed. Not only was the story so good but it also took me back to the time I read To Kill a Mockingbird as a kid and then the time I listened to it on tape on a cross-country road-trip. Not very many authors have cut such a long swath through my life. I really am grateful this was published and I can’t wait to talk with friends about it.

single parenting books

We’ve also been reading Jim Abbott: He Beat the Odds. Over and over again as we tend to do. We’ve been on quite a baseball kick this summer and it’s been a really good thing. Bonus points for learning about Jim Abbott’s story which has elements of adversity, diversity and team playing. Even when we aren’t reading the book the story has been a thread that we’ve followed in our daily life about working hard, taking care of yourself and “ability” in general. I highly recommend this book whether you are into baseball or you are looking for ways to talk about what “disability” means.

2 thoughts on “Big books little books.

  1. I’ve been on the fence about reading the Watchman book, because of the controversy re: the author’s consent. But I think your little review here sold me. It’s been done so…might as well enjoy Harper Lee’s work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

