New Year’s resolutions.

vintage-social-networking

I used to make sooooo many resolutions every year. Learn one new song on the piano every month, say goodbye to all “frenemies,” go vegan, have a dinner party every Thursday night, heck I even tried out for the local NFL cheerleading team one year. There were some seriously fun ones in there over the years. I think about it now and marvel at all the time I had to focus on myself, my personal goals, my personal growth and just fueling my own adventures. I simply don’t have the time for all those specific goals right now as a single parent of a young child. What I do have time for is two gentle changes that I can only imagine could actually be quite life changing.

I was just chatting with a friend about our hours-long rituals of reading the internet every night. Just read this Aziz Ansari quote, too: “I read the internet so much I feel like I’m on page a million of the worst book ever.” Ugh, that is definitely how I feel. I am grateful though that I have found some community and connections online – through emails, Facebook, Meetup groups. I LOVE being able to put a dozen books on hold at the library in just minutes online. I love being able to write here. I love being able to shop online and have what I need delivered right to my door. That’s all great stuff, but the rest of it? Reading the news via Facebook, yuck. Looking at the hazy and beautifully edited Instagram accounts of stranger after stranger – SO not helpful. Doing internet search after internet search of parenting questions, medical advice and ex-loves – ohmygawd NO.  So one resolution this year will be to read at least one book per week (in real, physical book format – not on a screen). That means at least 52 books. And I’m excited about it. First up is Hammer Head!

The other thing I want to add to my life is a kinder, gentler fitness habit than I recently embarked on with running. The running felt good and was really going great…until I hurt myself. I think running may not be for me – maybe just in the short term but maybe not ever either. So what I’m going instead is going for a 30-45 minute speed walk every morning when I drop my toddler off at preschool. And every month I will add in something different. For January it will be a month of “yoga camp.”

How about you? What are you big or small goals for 2016?

 

6 thoughts on “New Year’s resolutions.

  1. Those are great resolutions! Since I started blogging I haven’t had any time to read, but I want to start that again this year. If I’m going to be staring at so many words, I’d really like for them to be on paper!

    Like

    • Thanks Samantha. I guess that’s my version of keeping it very simple this year – otherwise known as being more kind to myself. A perennial goal…! Drop back in and let me know what you are reading anytime – I’m always up for a good suggestion!

      Like

  2. My main goals for this year are to start studying for (and take) my comprehensive counseling exam, finish my graduate classes, and be able to run 3 miles without stopping by May. Good luck on completing all your goals 🙂

    LiveLifeWell,
    Allison

    Like

Leave a Reply

