What kids need…

download-1.jpg

Wow. This interview is worth a read if you have a moment. I love her confidence in young people and I can’t wait to get my hands on her book. This is the kind of stuff I think about all the time – how to allow my child to learn without so much interference, how to raise a child who questions things, how to trust my child to find his own interests and how to see a child’s needs and wants so clearly. If you’ve been reading here for a while you know one of my favorite books about child development is Nurtureshock. I’m also a fan of The Parenting Passageway and of Teacher Tom. I think a lot of the ideas contained in those places tie in really well together – and in addition to having so much support from the research – they just make intuitive sense to me.

I was thrilled to find a preschool that is very much like the place Teacher Tom has created up in Seattle. My child is in the hands of very like-minded people who are so conscious about how they talk with kids. It’s amazing to witness and I just love seeing my child thrive in those new relationships and with all the raw materials they have on hand. I wrote about our transition to a new preschool recently and I am here to say that it could not be going better. Our last preschool was absolutely wonderful, we have very intimate and ongoing relationships with the teachers and other families from there. And I couldn’t have dreamed up a place better than our new school. So glad to have these people and experiences in our lives. As a single parent I have to say I love the joy, laughter, support and just plain connection we have gained through preschool. I can’t imagine life without these people. I know not all kids thrive in preschool situations – but I’m feeling glad this is a trait we’ve inherited in the cards we have been dealt. Feeling really grateful and satisfied in the present moment.

 

2 thoughts on “What kids need…

  1. I’m so glad you have found a great preschool for your little one. I’m no there yet, but when my toddler is old enough to go to preschool, I hope she is surrounded by loving people who want to nurture her creativity. How long have you been blogging?

    Like

    • I honestly was terrified to put my child in preschool. I toured soooooo many and it was sort of stomach turning. But then I found one sort of miraculous place that we both felt so at home in. It was such a good move for us and one I could not have conceived of before seeing such a perfect place.

      I’ve been blogging since my baby was just a few months old, so close to 3 years now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

