10 ways to relax at the end of the day

download-2.jpg

  1. Power off your computer and phone as soon as you get home. I find it so easy to let the work of my day drag out late into the night if I don’t do this.
  2. Brain dump any lingering thoughts and to-do items on a list. Any scrap of paper will do but if you are looking to be more organized, here is a good one for the week and one that captures your shopping list, too.
  3. Try taking the deepest breath you have taken yet this year. Something I learned from Yoga with Adriene that I’ve fully adopted into my days.
  4. Have some tea with your kid. I usually go with lemon balm. It’s a nice ritual and fun to say cheers at the end of the day.
  5. Do a puzzle. Use a different part of your brain, boost your grey matter, zone out. This one is good for us because my kid LOVES puzzles. Puzzles with 50 or so pieces seems to be perfect for us right now. Here are a couple of good ones: solar system, horses, and construction equipment.
  6. Have an easy meal plan. I’ve said it before many times, and I’ll probably say it at least 100 times more. Having a simple meal schedule has saved my sanity after a long day.
  7. Go for an evening walk. Get that last bit of energy out and feel the evening air on your skin. It’s something I recommend so often to parents of small babies trying to regulate sleeping schedules – and I take my own advice on this one! It’s a great family tradition. We do this at least twice per week.
  8. Invite a friend over for dinner. I keep hearing that you become like the people you hang out with – so choose accordingly!
  9. Play around with an instrument. Grab a ukulele, keyboard, harmonica…kazoo! Just play around no matter how it sounds. It can really set a new rhythm for your evenings. Something most kids will want to get in on, too!
  10. A self-care ritual to calm your body. After your kid(s) are in bed try a calming ritual. Maybe it’s dry brushing and abhyanga oil massage. Maybe it’s a bath with warming salts. Maybe it’s a short yoga practice online. You can’t really lose when you take care of yourself like this.

 

 

3 thoughts on “10 ways to relax at the end of the day

  1. Great ideas! My daughter is super into puzzles at the moment and is always wanting to do them. This is my time of relaxation at the moment and it’s nice getting to spend that time with her 🙂 I’ll have to try the tea with her! And I also love Yoga With Adriene! Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

