Capture.

41R42xhOWbL._SX349_BO1,204,203,200_I’m a reading machine lately – and it feels so good!  It reminds me of my late teens and early twenties when I was completely unaffected and uninfluenced by the internet. The good ol’ days!

My latest read is Capture: Unraveling the Mystery of Mental Suffering. I kind of saw this as dozens of articles that would each separately go viral on the internet – but composed into one book. The author moves effortlessly from telling the story of David Foster Wallace’s suicide to the painful ways people can experience love to what leads to violence. Hard topics for sure but I found it to be a real page turner for me. Fascinating ideas about topics presented in ways I have never thought about them. A highly recommended read for when you are ready to think deeply about tough issues.

Speaking of tough issues! Single parenthood is kicking my a** lately. My three year old is mostly delightful so that has been great. It’s really all the other stuff that is getting to me right now. The constant sink full of dishes, the messy house, the paperwork, the cooking/cleaning/daily routines/work. I try to put a positive spin on it but…it’s simply hard to be consistent and run smoothly all the time. Especially after three years of doing it alone. I feel like I’m sputtering out. I’m not sure what the solution is but I did buy a bunch of paper plates and cups and disposable utensils. I hate to be wasteful but I’m losing my sanity with it all! Hoping that can take the edge off. And now I’m off to find my next book to escape into tonight…

 

2 thoughts on “Capture.

  1. Pingback: David A. Kessler, M.D., author of Capture, on tour April/May 2016 | TLC Book Tours

Leave a Reply

