How To Be EVERYTHING

515KV8TLH4L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_I recently read the book How To Be Everything. While I think the subtitle should actually be something about being a single parent, it is actually “a guide for those who (still) don’t know what they want to be when they grow up.” If you are one of those people, I think you are in good company. It seems like working at one career path for 40 years has gone out of style. I’m glad it has become more socially acceptable to have several different careers over time, because it has definitely been my path. And even in the moments that I’ve had people try to shame me about it, I’ve known that being an idea person with many interests has been one of my greatest strengths. I started working full-time when I was fifteen years old. Twenty years and three careers later I find myself once again standing at the edge of yet another great adventure. And I’m way more excited than I am intimidated.

The book puts into words what I’ve worked out only intuitively. But it got me thinking about what my own process of starting big, new projects looks like. For me, it looks like scrap after scrap of paper – making the numbers work and defining the best pitch for each audience. Once I get it right, I start right in. And I keep checking my progress against my scraps of projections. It’s a loose process, I think keeping me from analysis paralysis, but it works for me. I better get back to it! I think I have an exciting several months ahead.

 

One thought on “How To Be EVERYTHING

Leave a Reply

